Sunday, May 5, 2013

GIF of Brian Strait's holding penalty against Sidney Crosby in overtime

Easy call.


4 comments:

  1. that is only two hands, if he had used both feet two perhaps it would be holding

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Looks like two arms and a leg. Maybe had Strait also swept his left leg under Crosby it would have been holding.

      Delete
  2. Maybe if Crosby wasn't pushing off with his left arm he could have had two hands on his stick and he wouldn't have fallen errr... dove I meant.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. One day you should consider reading the rule for holding. For your convenience here's what it says:

      54.1 Holding – Any action by a player that retards the progress of an opposing player whether or not he is in possession of the puck.
      54.2 Minor Penalty - A minor penalty shall be imposed on a player who holds an opponent by using his hands, arms or legs.

      Link ... http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26346

      Oh, and as for Crosby's arm, read the next sentence of the rule: "A player is permitted to use his arm in a strength move, by blocking his opponent, provided he has body position and is not using his hands in a holding manner, when doing so."

      This GIF will be used in referee schools to teach what holding is for generations.

      Delete